Flight Lessons near Phoenix

Mesa, AZ

Item #: AIR-PHX-0023
Option & Pricing:

Buy now and choose a date & time later.

Please select an option above.

Instant eVoucher Delivery (Sample)

30 Days Returns on eVouchers

No Expiration Dates

Easy Exchange


Take the controls and learn to fly a plane under the supervision of an experienced FAA certified flight instructor!

  • FAA certified flight instructor will provide one-on-one coaching throughout your flight experience
  • Learn to fly a Cessna 172 - the prevailing training aircraft worldwide
  • Sit in the pilot's seat of a Cessna 172 and handle the controls while in flight over the breathtaking Arizona landscape below
  • No experience necessary! 
Falcon Field Airport - Mesa, AZ
When Do I Choose A Date?
If giving as a gift, your recipient can choose a date at their convenience; otherwise, you can choose one after checkout.

Wednesday through Friday - 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Saturdays - 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Option & Pricing:
Please select an option above.
Essential Information
  • Must be at least 16 years of age
  • Students under 18 must be accompanied by an adult
  • Total maximum weight of all participants is 250 lbs
  • Gratuity is not included, and it is customary
Approximately 1 hour with 30 minutes of ground school and 30 minutes of flight time.
Experience Provider Info
Complete information for your Experience Provider, including contact information, will be included on your booking confirmation email once you or your gift recipient have scheduled the experience. Our Product Management team handpicks top-rated experience providers, removing the guesswork for you and ensuring your peace of mind.
Maximum Participants
1 student and up to 1 passenger depending upon option selected; however, the total weight of both the student and the passenger must be no more than 250 lbs.
Depending upon option selected, students may bring along 1 passenger aboard the plane for the flight (weight permitting), otherwise additional spectators may come to the airport to watch or take pictures of take-off or landing.
Weather Dependent
This experience is weather dependent. Always contact the Experience provider with any questions regarding weather conditions. In the event of inclement weather, your pilot will work with you to reschedule your experience.
What To Wear
Wear comfortable clothing appropriate for weather conditions, closed-toe shoes, and sunglasses are recommended. Don't forget your camera!
Is there an age limit?
Students must be at least 16 years of age. Students under 18 must be accompanied by an adult.
Is there a weight limit?

The total maximum weight of all participants is 300 lbs.

What about gratuity?

Gratuity is not included, and it is customary. Suggested gratuity is $10-20 per student.

Will I get motion sickness?
Eat a light breakfast or lunch beforehand.  Depending on the time of day, the air can be a little bumpy and you might develop motion sickness.

Experience Vouchers that have not been redeemed can be returned hassle-free within 30 days.  All refunds will be made to the original purchaser.

Experience Vouchers that have not been redeemed can be exchanged for anything else in our marketplace at any time.  If you choose to exchange for an experience that costs more, you'll simply have to pay the difference.  If you choose to exchange for an experience that costs less, you'll have a credit towards your next booking with Cloud 9 Living.

Cancellation Policy

Once you have scheduled a date and received a booking confirmation, no refunds will be given. Rescheduling is allowed up to 72 hours prior to your experience, failure to appear on your booked date or to reschedule at least 72 hours prior to your booked date will result in the loss of the value of your experience. In the event your experience is canceled due to inclement weather you will reschedule your experience directly with your experience provider.

Customer Reviews
(27 reviews)
View More Reviews:
“I enjoyed every minute of it. Hope to be back in the sky again real soon. The instructor was very informative and friendly. The entire experience was absolutely fantastic. I would recommend this gift to friends and family.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Hi there, Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every minute of your flight! Having an informative and friendly pilot is a must and we are happy to hear they were able to provide you with such a wonderful experience. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our pilot! Let us know when you are ready for another flight and we would be honored to get you back up in the skies!    Kind Regards, Brianna 
“Super fun!! Would definitely go again.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Hi there,  We love to hear that! Learning to Fly is certainly a fantastic experience!  Let us know when you are ready to get out flying again.  Best, Sophia 
“Was great experience. I had amazing pilot. The views and the time flying by myself is something unique. Everything thing was good and on time. Highly recommended.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Hey Lourdes, thanks for such an awesome review! We are so happy to hear you had a great experience as well as an amazing pilot! We hope you have a wonderful weekend! Best, Kelsey
“Pilot was amazing. He was informative, payed attention to detail, very friendly and knowledgeable. Customer service questionable”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Hi Jeremy, thank you SO much for getting back to me! I am so happy to hear that you and your wife did enjoy the experience overall! So much that your wife is even considering becoming a pilot herself?!? That is AWESOME! My sincerest apologies for the lack in communication though. I absolutely agree with you on how important communication and planning are, especially in a learning situation and even more especially when someone is learning how to fly! We will make sure to inform our flight school of the lack in communication and make sure to treat this as a learning experience for all of our instructors. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention as we are always striving to improve our experiences because we believe that is what our amazing customers deserve! Please let me know if I can help with anything else at all, and I hope you have a great rest of your week! Kindest, Kelsey
“The first time we went we weren’t able to fly due to weather (bumpy air). We filled out the paperwork and even watch the introductory video, and after that we were told about this. However, they easily rescheduled. The second time we went we were able to fly. The whole experience went smoothly. We were a little nervous, but the pilot was friendly and knew what she was doing which gave us confidence. Extremely recommend, great experience!”
“where do I begin with this company? I booked a surprise 'learn to fly' birthday for my boyfriend, brought his parents all the way from south Tucson to watch him fly, we showed up filled out what we needed to, watched there training video, sat and waited some more. until we are told that our instructor Walten, went home for the day so we couldn't fly. its Ok if we had to reschedule and things happen, but to have us drive there expecting to do this and put us through everything just to send us home, I was disappointed and embarrassed I made his parents drive all that way for nothing without a notice from this company before we came, makes me think whats there Protocol if an employee just leaves with him knowing he has people who paid to have this memorable experience? anyways, Destiny was the one helping us with this and she was really apologetic & great, I told her I just want a refund. she issued a refund come Monday and that it would take 5-7 business days. 2 and half weeks pass by and I call back to see where my check was, a gentlemen answered and helped me out and said it was issued and looked into the matter for me so I was pleased with that, couple days roll by and I finally get my check in the mail after almost 4 weeks. but guess what... they wrote me a check for LESS then what I paid!!. So I did not get a full refund. I call back the next day, an older lady answered I told her the situation she seemed SOO uninterested to what was going on and told me to call cloud9living, which I was confused b/c the check came from there company not cloud9. I told her NO its not with cloud9 its with you guys and Ive been helped by destiny & another gentlemen and she just did not want to bother herself to help me or pass it on to her boss or SOMETHING. she just said someone will call me back that day, she took my name & number and well...nobody called me back. so I just settled with the check they sent me b.c I can't bother myself anymore with the hassle and with my busy schedule I don't have time to deal with something that was not my fault. and how unhelpful the last lady I spoke to sounded, I just gave up when nobody called me back to help me with my check that was shorted. destiny & the gentlemen helped me out fine. other then that horrible, time wasting experience EVER.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Hi Nohara, I wanted to thank you so much for your patience while I worked with the flight school to resolve your situation. I'm so very sorry that your special surprise did not go as planned and that you ran into so many bumps and snags along the way. I also want to apologize that you were not refunded the full amount that you paid and I have gone ahead and initiated the refund for the remaining amount owed to you. We strive only to provide the best experience for our customers and I apologize we were not able to do that for you and your boyfriend this time. For the next time you decide to try another fun adventure out I placed a $25 certificate into your Cloud 9 Living account to be used towards any experience on our website. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time with any questions or concerns you might have at (303)381-1711. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we really appreciate your feedback.  Kind regards, Kelsey
“I bought the introductory flight as a surprise for my husband and son. It was described as a "hands-on flight lesson with 30 minutes of ground instruction where you will learn the basics. Your instructor will guide you through the preflight safety inspection and prepare the aircraft for takeoff. In the air, you will have a chance to take the controls and fly the plane with your FAA certified flight instructor by your side to guide you. Perform introductory flight maneuvers as you take in the beauty of the Arizona landscape and the Salt River below." It took several tries to get in the air as the first attempt was scrubbed because the instructor didn't want to fly in the windy conditions. Ok, fair enough. We were rescheduled for two weeks later (last Sunday morning). The staff was very informative. The pre check was thorough. The pilot answered any questions my husband had. Up to that point, it was as advertised. Finally, they were off for what I thought was 30 minutes of my husband getting to get SOME control the plane while in the air. I was wrong. In the entire 30 minutes they were in the air, he was given control for 1 to 1.5 minutes, if I'm being generous. We were all very disappointed. I wanted this to be something special he and our son could share since thet are both interested in learning to fly, and this seemed like nothing more than a pilot trying to get his fight hours in while taking two passengers on an aerial tour. If I wanted an aerial tour, I would have booked one. When they landed, I could see the disappointment on both of their faces. I asked the office person what the standard amount of actual control was normal and she started with the very practiced response of "it's up to the pilot... bad conditions.... hard to say....etc", but didn't hesitate to ask if we wanted to sign up for classes. Granted I'm not a pilot and I'm not a meteorologist, but for those of you in Mesa, AZ on 5/5/19, you know it was a sunny, cloud and wind free day. So I don't know how "bad conditions" would have played into anything. I was very excited about this lesson. Now I'm just mad that not only did I waste my money paying for it, but that we wasted our time driving an hour back and forth each time for some half-assed "experience". 2 stars. The pilot was informative. They were quick to reschedule when the first flight was scrubbed. But it was definitely not what I paid for.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Hi Vanessa, thank you so much for your patience and understanding while we looked into your flight experience with our flight school. I was so sad to hear your husbands experience was below your expectations and I sincerely apologize that he was not offered the absolute best flight lesson that he deserved right off the bat. However I did speak with the flight school and they let me know that they will of course take your husband up for another Learn to Fly free of charge! We only partner with the best in business so that we can provide our customers with the best experience and we regret that we could not provide that for you this time. Feel free to give the flight school a call as soon as you are ready to reschedule and let me know if you have any additional questions. I also went ahead and placed a $25 certificate into your Cloud 9 Living account that you can use towards any awesome experience on our website. Best, Kelsey
“Great experience. Would like to do it again in the future.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Thanks for the spectacular review, Patricia! We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and hope that you do get to do it again in the future. Enjoy your 2019! Best, Kelsey
“I am terrified of flying and my boyfriend thought this might help me... ends up it definately did! Kat was incredible, I couldn't have had a better instructor. And the day was perfect, clear and gorgeous with fluffy clouds and more snow- topped mountains than I've ever seen, amazing!!! The girls up front were sweet and patient with me while I freaked out and so was Kat... i'll definately do it again (NEVER thought I'd say that)!”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Congratulations on overcoming your fear, Lauren! We're so happy we got to be a part of that amazing adventure of yours so thank you for sharing and I will make sure to pass on your kind words to our flight school's staff! Thanks for the great review and we hope you do come back for another flight or any other exhilarating experience you'd like to try! Best, Kelsey
“Short notice booking was scheduled within hours. Had perfect sunny weather, Quick preflight orientation where my questions were answered. Aircraft was ready to go and located directly at the vendor building. Pilot was experienced, professional, and provided good direction. The 1/2 hour flight time is quite short considering preflight and post flight plane preparation, taxi-take-off-landing time. Time passed so quickly that I forgot to get a photo while in flight. Great gift from my family. My advice is for you to purchase a longer flying time so you aren't so rushed and can get a better feel for actually fling the plane.”
Response from Cloud 9 Living
Good Afternoon Denis!  It is great to hear the weather was perfect as sometimes spring can be a tricky time.I enjoyed readying that your first time behind the controls was a memory that won't soon be forgotten! What a great gift to receive! Time always does seem to fly when having fun.  We hope to see you up in the sky again soon.  All the best,  Chelsea 
“My boyfriend and I had a great time! The flight instructor was very friendly and helpful. Definitely was a fun experience. For sure I'll be using Cloud 9 Living in the near future!”
“I received a gift of flying lessons from my wife, which Cloud 9 Living's exceptional scheduler made happen in Mesa, Arizona. The entire staff at the flight school was accommodating and friendly, and the instructor, Spencer, was absolutely top notch. I would recommend this experience to anyone interested in a mile high perspective on life. Well done, Cloud 9 Living! ”
“Spencer is a good teacher. He took the time to go through the instruments and how to check the outside of the airplane before we took off. Real fun!!”
“The instructor, staff, and the overall experience was just over-the-top. This had been on my bucket list for the longest time, and my wife gave me this opportunity for Christmas. I received a thorough briefing of what we going to do and how to do it. The flight was awesome and went well past the allotted time. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to get a taste of flying small craft.”
“It was an absolute blast!”
“Very informative on a personal level and very professional as well, couldn't have been better. I loved it! Would do it again. Thank you!!”
“Would have liked a little more time at the controls of air plane. ”
“Awesome! Flat out awesome! ”
“Exceeded all of our expectations. Great experience from start to finish. Smiles from ear to ear. Thank you.”
“Had an awesome experience! Kelly (the instructor) was fantastic!”
“This was a gift and my first time piloting an airplane. It was the most fun I've had in a long time. It was a unique and thoughtful gift. Awesome experience! ”
“The whole experience was great. Amount of pre-flight information was sufficient and the flight went well. Was pleased to have time at the controls. ”
“I enjoyed the experience. Our pilot was very thorough and provided a lot of encouragement.”
“The instructor was well prepared and extremely knowledgeable. It was a great experience!”
“My son gave me Cloud 9 Living as a Father's Day Gift. It was great! My father had an airplane and I flew with him in my youth. It brought back a lot of wonderful memories.”
“I gave a flight lesson to my husband as a gift for his 40th birthday through this website for $140. The certificate stated that he would get a 30 minute lesson followed by a 30 minute flight. We got there early and they were ready for us right away! We were taken to the Cessna plane and did a very brief inspection (the pilot told us that he did the inspection previously so he did not really need to do it again). Then we got into the plane and got some more brief explanations about the plane and what he (the pilot) was doing as we took off into the air. There was no 30 minute lesson prior to the flight. We got maybe 10 minutes of explanations before getting into the plane and taking off. Once we were in the air he (the pilot) told my husband to go ahead and fly the plane. Again with no instruction!! The flight time was about 30 minutes which was ok but my husband did not feel like he was really taught much. Total time start to finish was about 40 minutes (not the hour we paid for or what we were told he would get with the gift certificate). The pilot was friendly and answered questions but did not offer much information unless asked. The plane was old looking. The experience was ok but should have been better for the money that we spent.”
“Classic air aviation didnt know what cloud 9 living was advertising them as. I paid for two people to fly they almost didnt let my guest ride even though we paid for two people. It was a learn to fly experience but they didnt let us fly for more than one minutewhich was dissapointing. We also had to wait for over an hour because they messed up schedualing.”

How It Works...

Choose from 1,900 Experiences


Choose from
1,900+ Experiences
E-Voucher Delivered Instantly


Delivered Instantly
Your Recipient Books Their Experience


Your Recipient Books
Their Experience
Create unforgettable memories


Create unforgettable